New Residents


Towns in Cannon County

    Town of  Woodbury (opens in a new window) Town of  Auburntown (opens in a new window)          
There are antique and artisan stores in Cannon County that you simply MUST visit!

Driver’s License and License Tags

New residents or those returning to Tennessee and holding a driver license from another state must obtain a Tennessee driver license no later than thirty (30) days after establishing residency.  New residents will need to go to the County Clerk’s Office. (opens in a new window) New residents holding a valid learner’s permit from another state must meet separate requirements to obtain a Tennessee learner permit or driver license. The Cannon County Drivers License Office is now open. 8 AM – 4 PM, Mon. – Fri., at 110 S. Tatum in Woodbury, TN, in the Adams Building ( the old hospital). The office can be found on the left when you enter the building. Phone: (615) 964-0887. The office can help you with:
  • drivers license renewals
  • real IDs
  • change of address updates
  • gun permits (RENEWALS only)
The office can not:      
  • perform eye tests
  • do driving tests
  • transfer an out of state license (as eye testing is required)
New Resident Documentation for new or returning Tennessee resident (opens in a new window)    
Farmer harvesting onion and other produce from a garden

Get to Know us

Cannon County was established by the Tennessee state legislature on January 31, 1836. It was formed from portions of Rutherford, Smith, Wilson, and Warren counties[4][5] and was named for Governor Newton Cannon. This was part of the Middle Tennessee region, with mixed farming and livestock raising, including of thoroughbred horses. Time zone: UTC−6 (Central) – Summer (DST) UTC−5 (CDT) Congressional district 6th  
opens in a new windowQuick Facts Cannon County, TN According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 266 square miles (690 km2), of which 266 square miles (690 km2) is land and 0.06 square miles (0.16 km2) (0.02%) is water. Population: (2020) – 14,506 Density – 52/sq mi (20/km2) Area: Land – 266 sq mi (690 km2) Water – 0.06 sq mi (0.2 km2) 0.02%          

Surrounding area

Adjacent counties include DeKalb County (northeast), Warren County (east), Coffee County (south), Rutherford County (west), Wilson County (northwest)   State protected areas include Headwaters Wildlife Management Area and the Short Mountain State Natural Area.